The Sacraments

Know the Sacraments

holy sacraments



Baptism is the first step in a lifelong journey of commitment and discipleship. It is the Church's way of celebrating and enacting the embrace of God.



The Eucharist is both a sacrifice and a meal. We believe in the real presence of Jesus, who died for our sins. As we receive Christ's Body and Blood, we also are nourished spiritually and brought closer to God.



Also known as Penance and Confession, has three elements: conversion, confession and celebration. In it we find God's unconditional forgiveness; as a result we are called to forgive others.



Confirmation is a Sacrament of mature Christian commitment and a deepening of baptismal gifts. It is one of the three Sacraments of Initiation for Catholics. It is most often associated with the gifts of the Holy Spirit.



Marriage is a public sign that one gives oneself totally to this other person. It is also a public statement about God: the loving union of husband and wife speaks of family values and also God's values.

Holy Orders

holy orders

In the Sacrament of Holy Orders, or Ordination, a Priest is ordained to act on the person of Christ and in His name to change the bread and wine into the body and blood of Christ. A Permanent Deacon is ordained to serve the people of God by preaching the Word, assisting at the Eucharist and serving the poor.


Anointing the Sick

The Catholic Sacrament of Anointing of the Sick, formerly known as Extreme Unction, is a ritual of healing appropriate not only for physical but also for mental and spiritual sickness.